I borrowed a camera and this is what happened

DSC_0064

So I borrowed my best friend’s camera body, and I added a 50mm lens and a 35mm lens to the the deal. I somehow have forgotten everything I ever knew about taking photographs. I wish I could tell you that it’s great fun, at 43, to teach yourself how to use a camera again, but it isn’t even a little bit. It’s humbling in a way that makes me want to go back home and go to bed every time I realize I’ve snapped 200 photos and three came out focused correctly or lit well.

DSC_0027 (1)

They tell us though, that to be good at something, we have to just go do it, a lot. So that’s what I’ve been doing.

I have a tendency to get right up close to a subject. I’m trying to learn to back up a bit, to frame a shot well. But my instinct is to get in there and seek out the meat of things. I don’t know if there is a more perfect subject than Avery. She frets over her hair and her dark circles and her small stature and basically everything about her whole being, and all I can see is every single perfect thing about her. How she doesn’t just faint every time she looks in the mirror, I don’t know.
DSC_0027

I don’t have an external flash or external lights or reflectors, so I find myself with muddy, grainy shots or blurry portraits more than I’d like. But I’m getting there.
DSC_0016Portraits aren’t my very favorite, but I sure do love taking photographs of my little family.

I don’t know if anyone out there remembers what Hannah looked like as a kid, but Celica is most definitely her clone. Genetics, amiright?

Jack is finally at an age where he’ll sit still long enough to be captured on film, and even give a smirk toward the lens for a hot second.

DSC_0011

 

 

 

 

 

 

Now, I don’t talk much on the blog about Nathan, who’s been with me for about a year and a half now. We like him a whole bunch and we think we’re going to
DSC_0019keep him around as long as he’ll stay. He’s ridiculously photogenic. He will grumble and complain that the beard ages him but I adore it.  I love that this photo represents an afternoon we spent playing on the porch with our granddaughter who spun in circles dressed in a mermaid outfit until the mosquitoes chased us inside. We live just the most incredibly charmed life.
DSC_0037Speaking of mermaids, here’s one now…

 

And here’s her mama’s gorgeous new hair by Erin SpannDSC_0036

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

In the end, I think I might go into pet portraiture. Following my dad’s dog around searching for the perfect shot was pretty relaxing.

DSC_0012

Leave a Reply

