Folio Spanks Ruis. Again.

At least we have the Folio Weekly:

Yulee GSA_Folio

Other coverage from our local paper

Here are two of my favorite editorials on the subject. I’m not sure why we haven’t heard from Coleman Langshaw lately- whether he’s been censored, or whether his support for our cause has waned, or other stories fill his schedule. No matter what, I’m grateful and hopeful when I read editorials like these.

What a shame that we have taken a step backward for our students, a leap backwards for our entire community. It’s not just outrageous, it’s embarrassing.

But no, deliberate ignorance has no place for common sense, nor does it care that it is wrong, inappropriate and out of step with the world today.

Remember this guy? He’s the new principal of the middle school, which will hopefully within this school year be forced to allow a GSA to form and meet. When it happens, I’m sending him a cake that reads “in your face! -love, the constitution”.

Now onto the saddest part of the evening, when I ran into (heart flutter!) my 7th grade English teacher and love of my junior high life, now an administrator of some kind, at the school board meeting tonight. He called me by name (heart flutter!), made up an excuse to walk away, and sat in front of us at the meeting (voyer heart flutter!).

Then. After the meeting (which, incidentally, was not well attended by parents. there was no outrage), he walked up and said “well said!” to the one person who spoke out publicly (he handed out spiral bound BOOKS of reasons why “gay clubs” are dangerous for students!) against the GSA, a psychologist WHO WORKS FOR THE SCHOOL BOARD and who believes that allowing the GSA will give him “more business than he needs”.

“Well said”, Jim? (that’s right. I call him Jim. Even though his hair is pure white now I can’t bring myself to call him mister.) Really? You wrote out a reading list for me 3 years after I left your school! You mandated my reading Fahrenheit 451 and Clockwork Orange! You pulled a bully off me in the 8th grade when I got punched in the face for…wait for it….being DIFFERENT.

Ah, what political aspirations can do to a man.

One thought on “Folio Spanks Ruis. Again.

  1. I only went to two dances in high sohocl and both were with groups of friends, mostly to avoid the situation you so accurately described above. We’ve all been there and good lord, you couldn’t pay me to go back even with donuts.

    Like

Leave a Reply

