news fast

I knew I had to do something when I said to my husband, “I hope someone saves us the trouble of a trial when they catch that guy”. (not that it matters, but I’m talking about the military guy who killed the pregnant girl in North Carolina)

I’m – Okay; I was going to say I’m not a vindictive person by nature, not an eye for an eye type of gal. But that’s not really true, although I’ve been working VERY HARD to be a more tolerant and empathetic person. Reading about children being thrown off bridges, and mothers to be burned beyond recognition, and potential leaders of the free world signing off on racist propaganda- not am effective way to further my goal of inner and outer peace.

To that end, I reset my router, rudimentarily, I admit- but it works- and I’m blocking cnn.com. I’m a little embarrassed to admit this; I feel like I should tell you I read bbc.com or indymedia or some other such thing, but the truth is that my fingers fly up there to the address bar of their own volition sometimes and before I can say “no news is good news!” I find myself on cnn.com reading headlines. Sinking deeper and deeper with each click of the mouse, yet unable to turn away.

Then I spread it around: “did you hear about the apartment fire in Chicago? Did you see the found that body? Did you watch the hostage video?”- Because it’s not good enough to be all-alone under the oppressive cloud of headline news. I must dilute my terror by infecting others.

So we find ourselves sitting around the dinner table, appetites lost, afraid of everything. Sharing this burden of misery. Feeding off each other, feeding the drama.

So I’m done. I don’t expect to be kitten whiskers and smiley faces from here to eternity; I am me, after all. But for now I’m getting along just fine without the news, and I recommend this fast to anyone feeling crushed under the weight of it all.

3 thoughts on “news fast

  1. Sometimes I feel like an ass for how little news I watch, but I can’t stand the crush of so much horror. There’s just no balance. It trains you to focus on the bad in your personal life, at the exclusion of all else.

    BTW, Hi!

    Like

  2. I am with ya. I don’t read newspapers and I don’t watch the news, for just such reasons. London could be burning down and I wouldn’t know about it. It’s not that I don’t want to know about things going around me, it’s that I cannot filter the things I’d rather not know about. Like pregnant women being burned unrecognizably and infants being thrown to their death over bridges. I KNOW those things happen all the time… I’d just rather not be reminded on a daily basis. I get too upset over things I cannot control.
    It was when I started thinking up wickedly creative and medieval ways to exact revenge on those who commit such atrocities that I knew it was time to turn off CNN and get some Xanax. Thank goodness for drugs… it’s a good thing for the bad guys that I wasn’t in charge of doling out punishments pre-meds. 🙂

    Like

  3. ..even NPR is on my shitlist now after biting the bait on TEH NEW GAY MEGA-STAPH STRAIN!!!

    i can really relate to what you’re saying here. on one hand i feel baffled by the punitive drives in society, especially the FRY HIM/HER variety.. but it’s not like we can get too worked up about jeffery dahmer’s skull getting cracked. i found myself wishing they’d hurry up and kill “tookie” williams because i was so tired of his case getting so much attention to the exclusion of much more compelling death row cases. it is uh conceivable in theory that certain political assassinations might not be problematic for me to hear about. i think reckless and rude semi-truck drivers should burn to death alone. etc. etc. etc…

    Like

Leave a Reply

