the opposite of homebirth

Oh wow. Here’s an update on what we have going on for the rest of this pregnancy:

Twice weekly growth scans+NST (non-stress tests). Two trips to Jacksonville for this, Mondays and Thursdays

Twice weekly physical Therapy appointments for the next 5 weeks. Two additional trips each week- Tuesdays and Fridays.

Once a week with the O.B. Beginning March 20- Additional trip to Jacksonville, because these are on Wednesdays.

Blood sugar monitoring, 4 times a day. Blood sugars to be faxed to high risk OB every Friday.

Oral blood sugar medcation, once daily unless it fails to control sugar levels. Then we move to shots.

Mon-U/S and NST
Tues- PhysTherapy
Wed-OB
Thurs-NST
FRi- PhysTherapy

Can anyone tell me what to do with my 2 year old during the day, every day, until I have a baby? And also? How do people without cars and who have jobs manage this kind of medical-heavy pregnancy? Somone needs to develop a home Electronic Fetal Monitoring kit that download to a computer or something that Drs can access and read. It’s just silly and incredibly difficult to drive 75 or 80 miles in a day, simply to hook up to a monitor for a half an hour.

And finally- if you are a client reading this, I’m sorry. This is evidently my job for the next 2 months, and finding time to work becomes more difficult by the minute.

4 thoughts on “the opposite of homebirth

  1. Ugh. I’m so sorry. M watched a ton of sesame street when I was pregnant, so that’s an option for A when you’re at home and not driving to appointments. Are the physical therapy appointments helping the pain?

    Like

  2. My goodness, my goodness. I was in misery for 5 months with my 1st child. Ended up dehyrated and I suppose that was what was going on all along since nothing stayed down. I have eczema on top of that and the docs at the time would give me NOTHING so now I’m bone dry inside AND out and figuring this is my version of hell on earth.

    And then I read this. I can’t begin to tell you how sorry you are going through all this, although you already know the result of the misery is an amazing baby who makes you feel like they were worth it. But not what you’re going through, I am sure. I wish I knew what to do or say for you because I do know the feeling of being trapped in your own body like that; trapped by the life you are trying to nurture yet thank God for inner protection because all you can do is hang on for dear life day in and day out – literally. So I will offer my prayers for you and I will put a note on my monitor reminding me every day to think of you. I hope joy and relief come soon.

    Like

Leave a Reply

