Reasons for living

She hugged me. At Super Big Mart, there we were in the Valentine Candy Aisle and I was counting how many situps and pushups my dinner was about to cost me, when all the sudden from the front seat of the cart 2 tiny arms grabbed me and pulled. She laid her head on my chest and patted my arm with a tiny hand, pulled back and studied me for a moment, then turned her head to the other side and hugged me again. This went on for 5 minutes or more, because how the hell can you cut a child’s very first unsolicited hug short?

I cried. For a moment there I thought, “well that settles it. I must be pregnant”

I had no idea that every day could contain this much joy. Every day.

One thought on “Reasons for living

Leave a Reply

