but I’m not boarding up windows. that would just be silly.

Wilma might be headed our way. I have to be honest here and say, and I know this is inappropriate-that I’m kind of looking forward to a few days of good stormy weather, and maybe a teensy bit of power loss. Ona and her family are coming up from South Florida with pets and another Avery, a 16-month-old boy. Stereo Averys in the house. Be still my heart.

I’m also pleased to report that tomorrow night we’ll sign the final contract on the house and get the permit applications ready to file. Friday we’ll drop them off with SEVEN THOUSAND DOLLARS, and that’s when the waiting begins. I’ve made my peace with the waiting, especially now that the holidays are coming up and you know how busy I get with all my holiday crafts-there’ll be no time for fretting about the house. Besides, I haven’t even started sewing the new slipcovers for the furniture!

So we wait. Eventually someone will come and dig the footer for the foundation. Eventually, the loan will be approved and we can put the actual deposit down on the house-which will get us in the line behind all the people who were displaced because of Katrina. I suppose I can’t be too pissed off about that.

Leave a Reply

