Safe Passage

My grandfather passed away at around 1:50 last night, just as I was writing the most recent two entries in the web log.

I’d like to imagine that I had trouble going to bed last night because I was waiting for him. I went to bed just at 2:00 a.m. Whatever is true, I am relieved and glad for him to be moving on. Safe Journey, Grandpa George. You are loved.

Yesterday I held him and gave him a scalp massage while I told him about the dog and described to him what Avery was doing while she sat on his bed singing to him. I told him that one day she will sleep in the bed that he made and gave me when I was a little girl. I told him that we all loved him very much and that everyone would be OK. I told my grandfather that we would take care of Peggy. I heard my grandmother tell him the same thing, that she would see him soon and he could let go whenever he was ready. Paul, my uncle and my mother’s younger brother, photographed us around his bedside. I wish he’d had a chance to get some while Avery was sitting with George but we have a few like that from a couple of weeks ago. Yesterday George talked about big cats (“I like cats, now! That’s a big cat! I like cats”). birds and being hot. He remembered bait and worms, and told us about fishing. I’d like to think he had a good fishing day yesterday. He told Peggy “I’m gonna tell ya- I have to get out of here. I have to go!”. He insisted was ready to leave, and he went.

Avery and Great Grandpa Robinson

Leave a Reply

